Making a Tumblr: Problems

A friend of mine (actually, several of them) told me they were too lazy to check my blog unless it was a tumblr. After shaking my head and saying, “That’s bollocks. How can you be that lazy? I don’t need another blog.” a good deal, I gave in. It’ll import posts from this blog, but it won’t import my twitter posts, which this site does through a sidebar widget. Tumblr claims to have this functionality, but when I try to set it up, I get this page:

As recommended, I’ll try again later, but for now, high five tumblr. You’re off to a great start.

Update: Nope, got it working. However, tumblr’s UI is so painfully basic that I haven’t the least idea what “connecting to twitter” will actually accomplish. Will it read my posts in from twitter? I can only hope so.

Update 2: Tumblr doesn’t pull posts from twitter. Let’s see if it’s able to pull posts from WP.

Update 3: Deleted Tumblr. It didn’t gather twitter posts or WP posts, so what does it serve me?

3 thoughts on “Making a Tumblr: Problems

  1. You silly man. Why are you erecting a small army of blogs and ferociously maintaining a Twitter while still insisting that Facebook sucked up too much of your time? Every comment or picture you ever posted is gone as if you never existed, and that’s a little eerie.

    • Good question! I deleted my tumblr because I only intend to maintain one blog, and because tumblr’s importing software is godawful, I would have to maintain it in addition to WP. As for twitter, I wouldn’t call five minutes a day “ferocious”, as opposed to the hours and hours facebook inadvertently murdered.

      All that facebook content is saved, it should be noted, on facebook’s servers. Should I reactivate my account (which I plan to do, when I have more time), it will all come springing back to life.

What do you think?

